How to get ethernet networking working for a new motherboard in any Distro?

http://www.guru3d.com/articles-pages/asus-z170-rog-maximus-viii-hero-review,1.html

Just purchased one of these mobo from Newegg, and after booting up in my Ubuntu 14.04 LTS, including booting up with the CDROM as well – there is always no ethernet NIC detected.

Doing a "sudo lshw", I can see that the ethernet hardware remained "unclaimed", meaning no kernel modules has been loaded that is able to recognize the ethernet hardware.

Exploring further, from the specifications we know the onboard ethernet is Intel I219 gigabit ethernet card. So searching through the latest linux kernel source codes:

./ethernet/intel/e1000e/netdev.c:
/* Make sure clock is enabled on I217/I218/I219 before checking
* In i219, the descriptor rings must be emptied before resetting the HW
{ PCI_VDEVICE(INTEL, E1000_DEV_ID_PCH_SPT_I219_LM), board_pch_spt },
{ PCI_VDEVICE(INTEL, E1000_DEV_ID_PCH_SPT_I219_V), board_pch_spt },
{ PCI_VDEVICE(INTEL, E1000_DEV_ID_PCH_SPT_I219_LM2), board_pch_spt },
{ PCI_VDEVICE(INTEL, E1000_DEV_ID_PCH_SPT_I219_V2), board_pch_spt },

It is obvious that I219 is supported by the e1000e kernel module. So you just need to recompile the kernel and bootup with the new kernel/kernel module (e1000e.ko) loaded and problem is solved.

Leave a Reply

